Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Chess

G took away her soapstone chess set that's been on the coffee table since she went for her first chess club meet. My old set bought many moons ago from Global Village has taken its place. The vendor was selling loads of different sets with unusual themes. We went for the English vs the French and I gave G a game today - the first one in decades. I, er, beat her. :))

We went out for a walk not too far from the flat just to get some fresh air. It was G's second walk of the day. She left home while it was still dark in the morning and met up with Pauline.

And in the morning, I got a number of nagging things sorted, mostly banking stuff. My bank which normally gives me loads of hassle actually came up trumps today. I actually had the feeling they were on my side! And I took the first steps to make a booking to get the Pfizer vaccine which the government is giving to its citizens and residents for FREE! I also looked up about applying for a visa to enter the UK. My current ten-year visa expires in March. :( Surprised to find that it costs the same as it did in 2011 - £822!!! That's good news. Now to find £822... Think I'll wait until it's clearer whether we can travel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.