Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Twinkly!

15.12.20
Back to work this morning.
It’s getting noticeably busier and there is no COVID security whatsoever. Behind the scenes there is no sanitiser, very little mask wearing. I forgot to say on my first day I noticed that hardly anyone in the warehouse was wearing a mask and asked the monosyllabic manager should I be wearing one. He looked at me as if I’d asked if the world was flat and grunted “no”.
There is no social distancing in the store. And I have to admit I’m a bit guilty of it. You get so caught up in trying to complete each shop as quickly as possible that you just forget and reach for things, lean over people, and squeeze past just as you would when things were normal.
I can’t help thinking it’s ironic that I didn’t set foot in a supermarket - or any shop in fact - all through the first lockdown and now it’s all hitting the fan again and I work in one. Didn’t see that coming!!!!
I finished at 1.30pm today which was the longest shift yet. Seven and a half hours! Thank God for free tea, toast and marmite.
And my lovely husband dropping me off just before 6am and then coming to get me.
And for turning all the Christmas lights on before I got up so it looked all lovely and twinkly when I came down.
My new favourite Christmas decorations are the white paper trees Miss E made yesterday. I love them! I may get her to make a few dozen more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.