Wednesday's painting...

...On my drive yesterday, there was very low cloud cover. So didn't get to see a colourful dawn.

I did also give my mobility scooter a good run at the trading estate, so I can give it a good recharge when I get home. Far more shops trading than they should, given it is tier 4. And more shops with assistants not wearing masks - I mean all of them in that particular shop, which happened to be a frozen food shop. I was there early with my usual protective gear on my face and head (Sunflower Kid - face mask and the face shield). Everyone was lovely, and I couldn't reach a lot of things, tins and stuff, from my mobility scooter, and so they said to yell when I needed help. So, I yelled quite a few times and they came running over with a smile! It made it so much easier for me to lipread when they are not wearing masks, otherwise zilch understanding on what they are saying for me.

Those assistants in shops that do wear masks, are very reluctant now (presumably with this more virulent Covid, and our area is the worst for Wales at the moment) to lower their masks to talk with me (I do have the badge and sunflower lanyard explaining my deafness). They are allowed to lower them so a deaf person can lipread, but you can see in their eyes that they really don't want to do so. This is more than fair enough, I wouldn't want to endanger anyone. So I tell them not to lower their masks. And a mime ensues. I try to make it funny. I hope I leave happy people in my wake.

Anyway my painting for the day is the power station upriver, which I caught a glimpse of between the leafless trees, as I drove home. I did a lap of 60 mph up and down the dual carriageway on the bypass (hardly anyone uses it). So I went over what I unkindly call the String Bridge, twice. My daughter from Oz was cross with me for calling it that when she was with me a few years ago, because she is an engineer and called it a feat of modern engineering. I did notice that the approach to the bridge was more majestic and impressive going upriver, than on the return journey coming downriver.

My painting in Procreate, in a sort of sepia (but with some yellow to suggest the dawn) of the power station, and there is an impression of the string Bridge on the left.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.