The Lure of Hunger

Third visit this morning. He must be hungry... but not, as shown on the ever vigilant cctv, very successful. 

Timid to the point it's hard to get a stills camera near him, this morning I was actually reviewing his visit earlier in the day when he flew into shot and I grabbed the camera, sneaking into a bedroom for a quick shot through the double glazing.

I'm fairly sure he empties the pond of a lot of the smaller fish through the winter. I think the larger ones would pull him in, and enough small fish survive each year to repopulate the pond in the summer.

I shot high speed, hoping to create a sequential overlay shot, but he's sooooo big. The overlay was just a mass of grey wing and legs! I've put another one on Flickr.

Thanks for your thoughts yesterday. It's long past grieving time, but memories remain. May all your ancestors stand proud behind you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.