Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Take these chains

We did an urban walk this morning, parking in town as I wanted to visit my favourite wet fish shop (but it was closed until next week) and walking out to view our new house and back.  On the way we passed this milestone or, I suppose, more properly called a ‘furlong-stone’ given the measurement used.  For anyone unfamiliar with furlongs, the distance given is 35 chains, 0.4375 of a mile, or 770 times the distance between Henry I’s (1068-1135) nose and the tip of his outstretched arm (otherwise known as a yard).

I didn’t bother taking another shot of the house as it hasn’t changed much externally. All the work seems to be going on inside; a man was throwing off cuts of plasterboard into a skip from the upstairs window of the next door house, and there was evidence of people working away inside ours.  Hopefully, we’re on track for completion in March.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.