BRIANW

By BRIANW

Grilling For Gold, Aylesford

Due to the new lockdown we've now been told that if we have no work coming into our studios we can go home early, and if there are no artworks predicted to come in then we can "work from home" (even though we can't really). My boss is good in that way - he doesn't want me commuting in if everything has gone quiet, which it has done. This means I don't need to go in tomorrow, which is a real bonus.
I still had time to have an accident this morning, though. I was changing over a studio strip light for one that worked but the arm on the stand didn't lock off properly and when you take off the weight of the strip light the counterweight in the stand falls and the arm shoots up. Unfortunately, somehow my shoelace got caught in the arm mechanism and my leg was pulled up from under me and I face planted my studio floor. So there I was leg four foot up in the air suspended by a now very tight shoelace! I felt an utter idiot and there was no one around. After a herculean stretch I managed to reach the arm and pull it back downwards. Let's just say I felt like a right plonker but one with a raging heart rate. Luckily, apart from a bruise or two and a cut thumb I got away unscathed.
Today's album that kept me going was Real Life by Joan As Police Woman. I know every song and so belted them out - not while I was hanging from a studio stand, though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.