My Mom's Rose

I feel like the wind has been knocked out of me...I am full of disbelief and angst. How can this have happened to our country? I'm so worried about the next few weeks....I don't think that this is going to go away easily.

Today was my day with my parents - we watched the news coverage of the devastation of our democracy. My parents, 92 years old, and dad a veteran of the Korean War - just appalled at what they are witnessing. I hate that they had to see this.

So after my mom beat me at three games of backgammon in a row (go mom!) I noticed that her roses were blooming outside. What a perfect tribute...this lovely, glowing ember of a rose in the pouring rain. We will survive, and we will flourish in our beautiful country. Please hold us in our thoughts and prayers and hope that peace will reign again soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.