Life on the go

By BarryBadcock

Pinhole Photography

Pinhole Photography. Spent an enjoyable afternoon yesterday with the pinhole camera Frances gave me for Christmas 2019!! The camera made out of MDF that has to be glued together. Inside the camera is a black cardboard box that holds the photographic paper (3" x 3") and you prick a hole in the front with the needled supplied . A safelight  is crated using the red gel acetate and paper is loaded into the camera, one sheet at a time in a darkened room.  

The photo here shows two of my first three shots. The first shot was totally underexposed with a three minute exposure time. I increased the time to 6 minutes and took the top shot. I felt that there was just too much contrast in the natural lighting so I moved position and took another shot, the bottom picture, another 6 minutes.

Developing the paper was 2 mins in the developer, 2 mins, in the fixer and then wash. Standard Darkroom practice, although I did used to do a wash / stop bath between develop and fix. Nostalgia kicked in as soon as I opened the bottles and smelt the chemicals. The resulting image is a negative. They supply the means to make a contact print onto another sheet but I decided that I would just produce the positive in photoshop. Good Fun.

Day 275 of 365 Project

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.