houselightgallery

By stevenhouse

Hof ter Saksen

Another grey day though the sun came out briefly this morning. I was busy fishing out some eggs from the chickens - they've started laying again in secret. By the time I got out it was grey and it drizzled on the way home.

Hof ter Saksen was a private home built in the 1700s. It fell into disrepair in the 20th Century but came into ownership of the town. It's been beautifully restored and is used as a gallery space. It's moated, as you might expect in this part of the world, and the gardens are a lovely arboretum with plenty of walks. It has a stable block - now the towns Parks Dept offices and an Orangerie, which is a cafe open on Sunday afternoons only (Spring through Autumn). It's a 10 minute walk for me to get there.

I'm making the moated buildings close by my walking destinations for the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.