What a difference a day makes...

This is basically the same photograph as yesterday's blip, but looking so different.
Snow has fallen, very gently, all through the night, and is still falling now, just before noon. So little snow you hardly notice it. But even these few few flakes, drifting down, over 12 hours, deposit perhaps a centimetre of snow, and that makes so much difference. The crystals on the trees are gone, and the crystals on the ice are still there, but half buried in new snow, turning from crystal towers to the small clumps of snow you can see in the foreground.  Not the same beauty today, but still rather lovely, even without any sun.
Today I had my icebugs on, shoes with a mix of metal and rubber studs, designed for safely wandering around on icy surfaces.  So I felt safe wandering out onto the ice a little to get this picture. (I also had my ice-picks for climbing out if I fell through, though I was 99.9% certain I wasn't going to, otherwise I wouldn't have been there!)
The rest of the day was spent indoors, in my case working with some old photographs. We saw a very healthy looking fox wandering up the field. (Jan's blip today.) It saw us too, but since we were indoors it seemed unconcerned and gave us a look and then wandered slowly away into the trees.  
Dramatic happenings in some parts of the world but our days roll by very calmly. I rather like living here, where a fox walking by is our excitement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.