The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

Cory and Me

This drawing is part of a project I’m working on. Worked on this and did a bit more on last week’s project.

That was after spending an hour and a half at the dentist. One of my molars was cracked so today the dentist removed the old fillings and some new decay and then got the tooth ready for a gold overlay. At the end he and the dental assistant put on a temporary plastic one until the new gold one is ready. I tried a different approach as they worked on me. It wasn’t hurting so I didn’t need to worry about that. But usually as I’m getting worked on I get tighter and more tense until I notice my muscles are knots. Today I decided to change my focus. First I focused on the sound of the drill and imagined it was the sound track of a space movie. When I got bored with that I focused on the light. I tried to identify all the colors I could see in the fixture. That is similar to a current project and it really kept my mind occupied. Though I was in the chair over an hour, I found it much easier than usual to stay relaxed. And I could see all kinds and shades of color in that light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.