Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Wrapping

Today started off nicely - a late breakfast, a bit of tv, a bit of wrapping, lunch and a lovely long bath.
Then went a bit downhill - a trip to Tesco to get the things which were showing as unavailable on our delivery on Wednesday. Coronavirus panic buying and Brexit apparently mean there’ll be no broccoli or oranges!! And more importantly, it’s showing the Finest prawn roses out of stock!
I didn’t really want to go back in but I thought it was better than having to go on Christmas Eve to get anything that’s missing.
I got out of my lovely long bath and thought I’d pop to Tesco before starting dinner. I got dressed and didn’t bother drying my hair. Didn’t even brush it.
I looked like a bag lady.
Naturally I hadn’t been there five minutes before bumping into the manager who interviewed me and gave me the job and who I wrote my resignation letter to saying I felt it was an unsafe environment. Which it was. But there I was apparently happily shopping two days later. We vaguely said hello and I carried on walking wanting to sink through the floor. He only did that half recognising thing where you know you know someone but out of context you don’t know where from, so hopefully he didn’t make the connection.
Out of uniform, in a mask, with wet bag lady hair.
But I felt rattled.
And then of course I bumped into the person I always bump into when I look like a bedraggled bag lady and that made me feel even worse.
Not the most successful trip ever.
But that’s it now. I don’t need to set foot in Tesco until at least March! We have enough mince pies, crisps, nuts, cheese, crackers, cake and biscuits in the house to feed a family of ten for six months and I have deliveries booked for the next four weeks for all the boring normal stuff.
Dinner was big fat tasty sausages and my delicious warm potato salad. And mince pies and brandy cream. Amazing!!
I’ve been so good the last few weeks not beginning the festive eating (last year the flood gates opened in October and it was a disaster.
So today was the day. And it was good!!
The Little Misses chose the film while we ate -
The Emperor’s New Groove. It’s no Die Hard but it was pretty good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.