An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Lost the End of the Tape?

Well, it's big enough!!

First of all, chances are you missed my Sunday Blip, as it went up just before midnight. So, go back, for 'Rehearsals'.

Having just enjoyed the whole of the Oscars, live on Sky, it's bedtime, yes at 5.30.

Weather says it's going to be a miserable cold, cloudy day again tomorrow and I just don't fancy hauling a tripod about tomorrow - seriously tired after my lens workout over past two days.

This is so close, there was no way I could use the lenshood on the Tamron 90mm macro, even with the slightly further distance created by using the DX D7000 (eqv 135mm). The hood pushes the subject over! This sheer closeness was got by adding two extension tubes, (48mm in total) as well. Me, being greedy, life size is no-way big enough!

And stupidly, quick and handheld. Don't try this at home...though I did...using my usual routine of angle poise lamp and shooting from my armchair. Very technical.

Now wondering what else I can ultra macro close-up snap that has an end to it, around the home - I'm sure there are some in the bathroom, of course!

EXIF data shows 86mm lens. This is because the 36mm extension tube segment isn't passing fully its 'info' and so I have to use what is called the 'non-CPU lens' setting on the camera, as the lens was now 'manual'. Nikon only provide pre-programmed focal length slots for their own lenses, so it goes from 86mm, the next is 100mm. Likewise with my very old Tamron Adaptall 17mm SP - I have to dial in 18mm, as there's no 17.

Probably wished you hadn't asked yourself that, now?

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.