An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Through the Arches...

...and towards Trafalgar Square and Nelson's Column.

With limited brightness around today and realising that by missing, again, Mono Monday, I hadn't Blipped a single monochrome image from up here in London.

Still wanting to use the fisheyes, whilst I have them here and the camera they fit, I started to look in London's many cavities, for she surely has many!

I always seem to walk up into the City from Waterloo by cutting this corner and under these arches. I was asked as to what they were, but I don't think they're of any historical or architectural interest, except there's a branch of Waterstones to the right.

I had thought about the possibilities of a shot before but this time the full-frame fisheye seemed to fit it all in nicely, including the top of Nelson's awfully big Column! I then waited for a couple of minutes to get some suitable background interest - the tourists poring over a map and the walking figure.

Editing though was a real tricky one, though the original was 2/3rds stop under meter (my default) the sunlit highlights were just beyond satisfactory salvage. And the lower was full of low contrast and muddy shadow. So quite a while longer after, and a clone out of part of my anatomy, this is probably as good as it's going to get.

I could probably get something a little better during the rest of the day but a few of you have said that they have liked my interpretation of standard iconic landmarks and I do like the general idea and composition of this.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.