The Patience Of Pidge & Avian Training

Early this morning I saw a pair of bright eyes .( see extra )Pidge had made it through the night.. Looking like two of a kind we took a taxi to an Avian vet .They were amazing and the examination. tests etc took longer than time allotted by any  GP. There is a lower leg fracture which has been splinted .Only in 4 weeks will we know .Also lost feathers must grow back .So my days will be busy .They tube fed this morning and right now one bright bird is eating corn .I got a special  carrier. Fresh water plus  food each day & administer  pain killers ,  antibiotics using fine syringes that go over the tongue ( was shown how to do .) Again met people who helped .Corn weighs a lot and a young man  helped carry for me. Had a coffee & in the bitter cold the young waitress brought it to me where I was sitting .Other tests were done and seems Pidge is healthy ....so now it's a question of one day  at a time .. Giving medicine to a bird is not easy .I feel I need two more hands :) One to hold the bird / one to tilt its head back , one to open the beak and another to make sure the special syringe goes over the tongue ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.