Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Offside to Starboard

I've often had to give way on country roads to combine harvesters, tractors, sheep, cows and even, on one occasion, a flock of turkeys.  This is the first time I've had to give way to a boat.  I was driving back into the village this morning when I was flagged down by a pick-up truck and after a minute or so waiting, this came around the corner.  I certainly wouldn't have wanted to come across it on the next stretch of road which is considerably narrower.

I am reminded of a time many years ago driving along a very narrow road in the Tyne Valley and commenting that the last thing you'd want to meet along there was a double decker bus.  Almost immediately......you've guessed it.  Only a single decker but just as troublesome!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.