Ingleman

By Ingleman

Dexter The Lion King

I am feeling mellow. Today has been a good day. An unexpected invite to go on a long walk with my buddy Gary. And his wonderful companion Dexter.  Nine miles in total, along the familiar Staffordshire Railway Walk to the Bratch at Wombourne and back along the Staffordshire and Worcestershire Canal. Early start, before the sunrise that didn't happen, with 'lunch' at 11am. Cold, damp and interminably grey. But it was good. Dexter is a one year old Golden Retriever, and  a force of nature. The only other dog that has impressed me as much was my ex-brother in law's Belgian Malanoir.   I love dogs and my favourite one of course is little Hollie, our spaniel. But Dexter is special. This shot was taken a split second before he took a standing leap across an eight foot wide stream and disappeared into the woods on the other side, without batting an eyelid. That was after a nine mile walk. I wish I was young.
Today we saw swans, geese and ducks on the canal. Pool Hall Lake was frozen and the birds were seeking solace on the canal. We saw Fieldfare, Thrush and many Blackbirds. I saw a Peregrine Falcon. And I photographed a Kingfisher in flight. I have also identified one of the ducks as a rare Scaly Sided Merganser. All of which is truly gratifying, but Dexter wins the day.
I am mellow.

**Thank you for stars, comments and hearts ( !!) on yesterdays  and previous days blip. Most grateful!*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.