karisfitch

By karisfitch

Fork in the road

Have really been enjoying the “Lectio 365” readings (by 24-7 prayer, based on Lectio Divina). Today’s was on the life and legacy of Jim Elliot, who was martyred 65 years ago today.

This was one of his prayers:

“Father, make of me a crisis person. Bring those I contact to decision. Let me not be a milepost on a single road; make me a fork, that people must turn one way or another on facing Christ in me.”

And, who famously said:

“‘He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose.”

A beautiful life, that thought of others as greater than himself. And a challenge to think, when was the last time I experienced a tangible consequence, or made a real sacrifice for the decision to think of others as greater than myself?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.