To See New Englandly

By distractedhausfrau

Everything's Magic

The first time I visited Walt Disney World was the year it opened. All that existed was the Magic Kingdom. My memories of that trip are only of the snapshots taken back in 1971, but I do remember my last trip to Disney World in about 1981, right before Epcot was about to open.

Today, in 2009, there are four Disney theme parks, several water parks and other theme parks such as Sea World and Universal Studios. Needless to say, it can be overwhelming for children as well as grown-ups!

Cinderella's castle is at the center of the Magic Kingdom and can be seen for miles around. I remember even as a kid thinking it was simply magical. When we arrived, a show, complete with princesses was just beginning.

We endured the crowds, long lines, and stroller traffic jams to experience the rides. But by dinnertime, very little interested my daughter. To be fair, it had been a long, hot, overly-stimulating day.

On our way out of the park, however, night was falling, and there was a whole new kind of magic as the lights began to come on. People lined up in front of the castle to view the SpectroMagic Parade. My daughter loved it, and earlier meltdowns aside, the parade reaffirmed that in the world of Disney, everything's magic.

Note: I liked this shot because the light and lack of people at the time seemed magical :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.