To See New Englandly

By distractedhausfrau

The Explorer Has Landed

I used to travel a considerable amount for both business and pleasure. I had the whole thing down to a science. I never had more than one suitcase and one small carry-on; I knew how to dress so I could whisk through security, be comfortable on trans-Atlantic red-eye flights, and still feel reasonably presentable upon reaching my destination; and I could figure out public transportation systems in nearly any country or language (although, Turkey is the one country I've been to where the word "taxi" isn't as international as most other places).

Not so with kids. Or even a kid. Now I have a child who requires her own suitcase and carry-on which need to be packed and carried; whose travel accessories include a stroller and car seat; and who insists on wearing lace-up shoes which can slow one down a bit at security.

Regardless, after a long day and a bumpy flight, we made it to Orlando. My daughter did amazingly well. (A red-eye to France two years ago during which she literally screamed for a full 4.5 hours then had a bloody nose all over me, all before our luggage was lost for three days, is still what I expect when I get on an airplane.) This, one of only three or four photos I took today, is about 45 minutes before the big meltdown (which was also about 45 minutes into the wait for a rental car). I was actually quite pleased we made it this far into the trip before the tears flowed and bad behavior started.

Tomorrow, we're off to the Magic Kingdom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.