It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

The One That Got Away

2 minutes after this image, there was an amazing sunset, with the sky looking as if the flying spaghetti monster in the sky was playing with his vibrance settings. I should have got my tripod set up but chose not to....I captured an amazing image. Well it looked amazing on my camera screen. Unfortunately, when I uploaded it, it looked as sharp as a team from Trump University on Mastermind! 

The day has been a tiring one. I started with a hilly 70km race on Zwift. For the uninitiated, this is a bike computer game in which my bike and smart trainer is linked to my TV screen. It's immersive and very physically hard. I get to race similar nutters all over the world (record was hit last week with over 40k Zwifting at the same time). After an hour & the 2nd big hill, my legs were really feeling it. But I stuck in and was aggressive in my wee group. I attacked on the final big hill but was unsuccessful. 3 guys went off the front and I was left in a group of 4. I won the wee group sprint! 2-hours and 1700 kcals later, I was pretty knackered.

Rosemary was very cheery when I finished. I think she was buttering me up because she announced she was just leaving to go out on her MTB for the rest of the day. Snow and ice is everywhere! But she has new glove things called poggies....they're designed for people riding bikes in Canada in mid-winter, and she wanted to try them out! Rosemary doesn't do things in half's and is still out (18:45). No doubt she'll come in exhausted and starving! Luckily, I have prepared a 'stick to the ribs' dinner. 

After my lunch, I headed out with the camera to Calton Hill. It took several attempts to ascend. The first path was covered in sheet ice. I didn't notice until about 10-m in and then got stuck. There was no traction under foot. Luckily, a guy came to the rescue and pushed me on my rucksack to the side! Brave lad! The other path was fine though. I spent around an hour up there. Whilst I took quite a few photos, this was the only one I didn't delete.

Then I walked home to get the dinner on!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.