Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

2204. Pearl January 9

I almost left this too late to do today as I forgot completely that I hadn’t actually taken a photo for blip today.  I also haven’t had much time to look at journals today either but I do hope to catch up very soon...in the meantime thank you for your visit!

I have noticed that a few people have also been joining me and posting a photos of pearls on journals too and that’s really wonderful!

Today’s pearl photo is a brooch that I’ve had for many years.  I bought it second hand as part of a set that comprised earrings and very large chunky ring.  I sold the ring many years ago and had the earrings altered a little last year as they weren’t comfortable to wear as the placement of the pearls prevented them from sitting on the ear lobe properly, but now they’re perfect.  I’ll blip them at some point this month too.  The brooch is gold and is set with tiny emeralds, diamond and seed pearls and the details on the leaves is simply stunning.  This is one of the few brooches that I’ve had that has never been an issue in terms of coming undone when I’m wearing it as the clasp is very strong and doesn’t move once it’s fastened.

Today was relatively quiet, we had a leisurely start and then I walked into town to meet my eldest step daughter for a walk and a coffee.  It was bitterly cold so we popped into Marks and Spencers briefly to warm up a bit.  Whilst there I spotted a couple of lovely warm jumpers for my hubby and my youngest, in the sale and was surprised that I could still buy them.  They have the food hall open and some limited clothes on the ground floor but I had assumed that they wouldn’t be able to sell clothes when other retailers (who don’t sell food) weren’t able to open at all.  We didn’t stay long as there were a few customers who weren’t that keen on social distancing so I doubt I’ll go in again.  We had a nice walk and a good chat and caught the bus home, I was going to walk but it was so cold.  We sat apart on the bus which felt very strange but the rules are there rules!

My hubby had ordered a Google Home Nest speaker before the start of the new year and it was finally delivered today.  My eldest bought me one for Christmas which we now have in our kitchen but hubby loved it so much that he thought we should have one in our lounge too!  He can speak to it to control our central heating and hot water and to play music whenever he wants...oh and also ask it silly questions....which I guess is what a lot of people do!

One day is very much blending into another at the moment so I am trying to keep busy and find new projects to do.  My middle step daughter’s partner has just bought a new camera so I promised to go with him to practice using it.  My eldest wants little chicken jumpers knitted for his new chickens (Lucifer and Hortense -don’t ask) so I ordered wool today to start making them...apparently chickens can get very chilly this time of year!

I also intend to finally finish my 365 Sketchaday journal but won’t be continuing it beyond the 365...it should have been completed in May 2020 but I have fallen so far behind after last year’s terrible incidents. So plenty to keep me going...I think....

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.