Marlytyz

By Marlytyz

Three trees across the field

Just as I reached this point on my walk, I received a telephone call from my 92 year old mother in law. She said her lights and heating had gone out. As she lives in Wales and we are in Devon, I spent the rest of the walk trying to get through to British Gas, who I knew she had a Home Emergency Policy with. Well, I almost found myself screaming at the automated voice, who kept insisting the earliest they could get out was next Tuesday. It is difficult to engage with a robot, but I kept shouting 'vulnerable'. In the end I phoned the carer who sent her husband around. It was only a blown fuse, but had she been left a night without light or heat she would have become very ill. It makes you realise how there are so many unintended consequence of this pandemic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.