The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Take My Hand (lyric and notes)

* Patchwork Quilts - bridging the gap between a picture and a thousand words. The song and the pic of the folksinger have been around for awhile (photo credit goes to my niece Leah). The song got updated this weekend. The folksinger's a bit worse for the wear.

Take My Hand

(instrumental verse WSO as intro)

(1)
Once we all held hands to sing We Shall Overcome
Before the torchlight faded in the days when I was young,
I want to hear that song again and feel my soul fly free,
It was a song that gave us hope to dream of peace and harmony.

(chorus)
Take my hand, take my hand,
My brother oh my sister take my hand,
The road has made you weary but it's time to take a stand,
We'll walk the road together ... heres my hand.

(2)
The color of your skin, the hopes we share for love,
Who we are, what we are, how we pray to God above,
All the things that shouldn't matter, but all too often do,
If we turn our heads to look away, how can the dream come true.

(softly)
We shall overcome, we shall overcome,
We shall overcome one day.
Deep in my heart, I do believe,
We shall overcome one day.


(chorus)
Take my hand, take my hand,
My brother oh my sister take my hand,
The road has made you weary but its time to take a stand,
We'll walk the road together ...here's my hand.


Once again, thanks for your patience while I continue to look for a home for my Patchwork Quilts. I think you can understand why, given the events of this last week in my country, this one is important to me. Be safe. Be kind. Care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.