pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Me and my shadow(s)

I felt almost giddy with excitement this morning at the prospect of having a legitimate reason to leave my hometown to visit another for the purpose of collecting The Eldest.

It was a lovey drive too, revealing that between Kendal and Ulverston, Kendal had had the lion’s share of the snow, albeit a light dusting. It was enough to render the landscape utterly beautiful though and a drive that I would normally complete as fast as possible, was this time completed at a sedentary pace - what is there to rush for right now?

Before setting off, I’d done a little bit of prep work in my bid to provide better food and got my chicken chasseur off and running in the slow cooker, before bundling the wee ones into the car who were excited at the prospect of seeing their big sister again.

With the weather being cold, but beautiful, having collected Carmen we carried on a little further to Bardsea (I’ve blipped about it a few times last year) and walked out on the frozen mud. I love it there. The sense of wide-open space is a breath of fresh air in every sense and I encouraged the wee ones to “run wild, run free” as Carmen and I caught up.

That said, a keen eye always has to be kept on Matilda as she is the one that will invariably find a way to injure herself or fall in something wet and/or cold. How I loathe that tenterhook feeling that comes with parental anxiety, it’s not like she’s ever REALLY hurt herself and any scrapes she has got herself into, she’s got through, so why on earth do I worry so much?!! 

She’s had a good day too (that’s her in the main) and was pleased that Carmen had brought along her large “Stitch” teddy (from the lovely Disney film Lilo & Stitch), which Matilda adopted and was chuffed to snuggle up to as we watched the film itself this afternoon. She also got to do some painting and I made a first attempt at brownies, whilst learning how to bring butter up to temperature in double quick time – basically, microwave half a jug of water for two minutes and then put your butter in the microwave for about 10 minutes to let the radiant heat get to it. Worked a charm and for a first go, the brownies weren’t too bad! 

I’ve added the extra of our shadows at the children’s insistence that it should be today’s blip. I feel that this is a good compromise.

Stay healthy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.