pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Going coastal

Towards the end of this month I will be serving as Best Man at the wedding of my best and longest-standing friend.

He’s been trying to sort me out a suit, which I’ve appreciated, but am a little worried as the items that have come through have been a little, well…..snug. I’m not saying that the trousers were tight, but you could count the change in my pocket.

One of the sticking points has been getting the right sized waistcoat for me (on reflection, 38” was optimistic – picture sausage meat bursting forth from its skin) in the style requested. There is a UK-wide absence of it, however, after a little googling, I found one out at Workington! The children were bundled into the car mid grumble and we set off on a road trip, marvelling at the snow dusted hills, or rather the few that we could see on a miserable day.

They had exactly what I needed and with some shoes and a matching belt purchased too, all that is left is a nice white shirt and I should be good to go. The Youngest helped look after my coat (see extra) while I faffed on. 

Their patience was rewarded with a “Greggs special” lunch of sausage roll, doughnut and Ribena, which we munched on after a short drive along to Whitehaven for a walk down to the sea front to watch the rough sea batter the shore before driving back home through the lakes.

It’s been another lovely weekend with them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.