Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

St Christopher

Must have been my birthday when my first girlfriend's mother gave me this tiny maybe 4x3 cm thin metal St Christopher in a foldable plastic case from Norwich Cathedral. I still have it in 2021 as I write this along with the miniature photos of my then car tucked in one of the pockets - back then when one got a film developed, some labs would give you an extra miniature set of the full size photos.

I'm not surprised she was concerned about her daughter being driven around in that machine but despite 10,000s km in the UK, almost weekly London-Norwich-London weekend journeys and even venturing as far as Austria, nothing untoward happened to us. Thank you, St Christopher, patron Saint of Travellers, you worked despite the Roman Catholic Church demoting you in 1970.

A combination of Annie & her Mum got me to trade in the Beach Buggy in 1976 for a tank-like Saab 96.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.