a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Stuck in the mud

This is the River Avon's weir at Swinford (again).  Its quite noisy with all that water, but strangely restful.  Its quite often at the mid point of one of my walks, and I keep meaning to bring a flask of coffee with me to enjoy some refreshment at this point. Of course, I probably can't do that now as it might amount to a picnic and I could get a fine for breaching the covid regs. So best to just push on and get back home for the refreshment.

I managed to get out this morning while the sun was shining.  A little bit of sunshine makes all the difference to being outside, even if it is cold and misty. I was keen to catch the light as this afternoon promised to be dull and grey and the next few days are forecast to be dull and/or wet.  

The sun was still shining when I got back  so I brought in the Christmas lights - they haven't been on for about a week, but the weather wasn't ideal for dealing with them earlier on this week.  We've enjoyed the festive decorations more this year than for a long time I think - we rather needed that lift this year.

I even took the opportunity to clean all the mud off my gaiters and boots....  I wanted to regrease the boots to make sure that they stay waterproof - its a bit of a chore but well worth it if its going to rain next week.  Needless to say the boots will be caked in mud again after tomorrow's walk :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.