a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Soaring

Another very dark and wet day, but that's January for you in this part of the world :-). After lunch the rain seemed to have stopped for a bit, so I went out to see if I could find something to photograph.  I walked up the hill to the area with the buzzards, and did manage to locate one, although it was resolutely sitting on one of the lower (and I suspect drier) branches of a tree some way away and showed no signs of wanting to venture out to keep this blipper amused.

I was beginning to think that I would have to make do with a grey squirrel, when I spotted the red kite.  I know that red kites are quite common in many areas of the UK, but we don't normally see them locally. The wind was broadly in the right direction so I trotted up the road, as quickly as I could wearing walking boots and carrying a camera and long lens, in the hope that I might get lucky.  Eventually I stopped behind a hedge and prayed that the bird would get reasonably close, and my patience was rewarded, today's blip is the end result. 

It is definitely better seen large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.