ferryoons

By ferryoons

Plague days

Our first venture out for a few days. En route back from the Awfully Safe Farm Shop we followed the spine of the Black Isle. Those are Highlands Plague Cities over there, though I realise they are hard to make out at distance: Dingwall, Invergordon, Alness. We won't be going anywhere near them. Official advice is to act always in public as if you have Covid. Agreed, but I also act as if everyone else has. Feels safer that way.

I took Norwestie onto the shore to get her paws used to walking again. We met a lady coming the other way with her labrador. Pleasantries were exchanged and I thought, "I know that accent, sounds just like *****?" A closer look and I thought "kin ell, it is *****!" You know her, she used to be in that comedy series with wossname. I didn't say "it's you, isn't it?" I knew it would be a pain.

Long ago in Kent we lived near an Avenger and several other thesps, and Dr Who was a close neighbour. Like anyone else they valued human, friendly conversation as in (Dr Who in the wine merchant) "hello Graham, what are you doing next?" "Home for coffee, Tom." Thoughtful pause. "Is there cake?"

Rural calm and friendship.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.