ferryoons

By ferryoons

Swallows and Amazons, Lenin, Trotsky and true love

When we aren't seeking blips with increasing desperation, or fretting about still yet another hold up on the house renovation, I read. Or read about reading. Or read other people writing about reading. Or learn unexpected things about writers.

When I was little I read Arthur Ransome's Swallows and Amazons series. So vividly written were they that I could have got into one of their sailing dinghies, and sailed it without hesitation. Aged ten, anyway.

What I didn't know was that Ransome had been previously a Bolshevik sympathiser in Russia, a British agent, had known Lenin and Trotsky, then fell for and married Trotsky's secretary. I wonder what she made of the Lake District.

New words for the vocabulary too. I read in Simply Foxed about a case of arriving home triumphant from the bookshop, with a new purchase, only to find you already have it. You're a bibliolathas, a forgetter of books. [Google it to find out more: it's fascinating.]

The second new word, I made up myself. Given the weather [see extra] Norwestie is hibernating. Between meals anyway. Driving to and from her walk yesterday she slept there and back. She's a hibernaut!!!


Sorry about that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.