New Prayer Flags, New Prayers

I have always liked the idea of hanging prayer flags with my own thoughts attached to be scattered on the wind. This tree in our field had a branch that seemed to be particularly well suited. The flags shredded in the weather and the tree in which I hung them burned and fell down, but it still has such dignity, even in its fallen state, that we have decided to trim off as many of the fried leaves as we can, and leave it where it is. 

Blipper travelphotos, reading that I was unable to purchase new flags, has sent me these which she purchased in Nepal and has kept for many years but has no place to hang. I wasted no time heading out into the dreich, dispiriting drizzle to hang them this morning. Thank you travelphotos . By definition prayer flags must have good karma, but these are doubly blessed.

As with so many people I follow on Blipfoto I feel that I have established many real connections and friendships. It is strange that travelphotos lives in the same town as me and yet, because of Covid restrictions we have yet to meet.  Not wanting to be too grandiose in my requests, I hung my first line of prayer flags with the hope that the country would survive the Trump presidency. It was a near thing, but we're almost there. It would be a bonus if congress could impeach him so he could never run again.

My prayer for these flags to carry out into the universe is for renewed health for ourselves, our country and our planet. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.