Burn in spate long exposure

The Coplish burn was very peaty-looking as it roared down from the moor. I was on my way to meet Ailie at the top of Physic Lane. It’s about a 40 minute walk for each of us to meet. Then we headed round the moor for a 6 mile walk. Most of the snow had gone. We went towards Primrose Cottage but turned off up a forestry track and eventually got back on to the moor.

On my way back through the wood within sight of the village I came upon a couple of young women wrestling with an OS map. I asked if they were lost but they said no, they’d been all the way round the moor and were heading home. They were just trying to work out where they were on the map as it was new. I left them to it. That made my day! Imagine buying a map and not knowing how to read it. I wonder what the mountain rescue would saw about that.

In the afternoon we headed out on a less than essential journey. I had phoned in an order to the deli for some Seville Oranges (haven’t made marmalade since the 1970s earth mother era) so they got picked up, then I collected my Click and Collect wool for yet another beanie. Finally I dropped wool and needles off for Chris with her broken leg. I stood at the door and we had a chat. The bone is still in place - she goes back on Thursday for another check. Rose, who she is staying with, won’t let her play her saxophone as it sets the dogs off howling. Poor Rose has her own 2 dogs plus Chris’s two to look after. I think the sax would be the last straw.

Ailie’s son in law had all the symptoms of Covid last week but thankfully tested negative and is feeling better. However I think she is being a bit rash in going to look after grandson on Wednesday- those tests are so unreliable I wouldn’t be taking the risk. So I’ll not be walking with her for a while.

Hancock says people won’t have to travel more than 10 miles for a vaccination - tell that to people living up the Coquet valley. It’s further 20 miles to the nearest GP for them. They are still saying we’ll have ours in a month. I’ll keep you posted!

#3 daughter thinks her kids are emotionally stunted. They had a film night and neither cried watching ET. Now she’s hunting round to see what might!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.