Rodents rule

By squirk

Up

This is the first spot of one of the peregrines this year – it's always wonderful to see one perched on the church spire.

The main highlight of the day (sorry, peregrine) was the post! Our street, and many surrounding streets, hasn't had post since just before Christmas as more than half the postal staff are poorly. It was like a second Christmas and birthday celebration with cards from friends and family, a lovely selection of teas from Bird & Blend, and a charming owl brooch gifted by a friend and made by a work colleague who swapped book design for jewellery design.

I've felt like I've ticked a fair few things of the to-do list, too, so it's been a good day.

On cat news, Juno gave me the fright of my life when I was on a video call with mum, dad and Rory earlier – he dove from the windowsill to halfway through the cat flap (0–1000 km/h per millisecond) while impersonating the loudest air-raid siren. This was to shout at a tabby cat. (Dad wished he'd recorded the video of my reaction, which was to almost fall off my stool while yelling "JESUS!") Earlier in the day, Juno woke me up by air raiding at Bacon this morning. Good grief.

On marmalade news, Wendy from Fruition popped by the gate to deliver her freshly made Seville orange marmalade and granola. We've missed it on our morning toast. It was lovely to see her and share a "hello" at a distance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.