Finished!

Having been reliably informed that pink and purple are her favourite colours of the moment, she also loves rainbows and unicorns, so I've tried to incorporate those things into the card. If you look closely you'll just manage to see the unicorns on the letters. Hope she spots them too!
Barry's mum's online shop took much longer than usual as quite a few of her normal choices were unavailable and I always feel I need to check with her before choosing an alternative, and even though she always says you choose, that seems to make it just a bit more difficult!
Sunday morning mum rang to say she has developed a cough.  She does most years. Living in a flat in sheltered accommodation the heating/ air system is not at its best and because she needs to keep warm the flat often gets overheated and stuffy. Of course this year it brought on a concern as to whether it could be something else. She has no other symptoms but nothing at home to take to ease it. She hadn't rung my son, who lives close by and will do anything for her, so I rang him to ask him to take medication. He was there within twenty minutes having been to the shop to buy cough medicine. He reprimanded her, in a nice way of course, telling her she must ring him or Gemma his wife, immediately next time! She hates to bother them or anybody and will suffer not saying anything. She only rang me because she wasn't sure if she had to do anything else because of the pandemic. We all have to nag her constantly to ask for help. I spoke to Charlotte as she's mum's bubble and we talked about the fact mum hadn't heard about the vaccine yet, despite being 91. This prompted me to ring her doctor this morning and make some enquiries. Apparently she will be notified this week and the vaccines are commencing next week and she is one of those at the top of the list because of her age. Charlotte is now at the ready to take her as soon as she hears. We have been concerned that mum would ignore any communication unless she was given an actual appointment as she thinks there are others more deserving to have it first. Armed with the latest information we will be checking every day to see if she's heard!
I had a long conversation with my SIL who had some better news. As well as coping with grief she has also had to deal with my brother's debts, but finally got the news yesterday that they will be written off as he has no estate. Such a huge relief for her and for the rest of us too. She will hopefully be able to move forward now. We had a good chat.
Most of the snow has retreated now but it was a horrible, wet, sleety day and although about 7° warmer than of late did not feel that way. I made myself go for a walk despite the conditions as I haven't been able to get out easily with so much snow on the ground. 
The trim for Luna's cape arrived during the afternoon so that will be on the list of jobs for tomorrow. Then I can pack it all up and send it on its way.
This evening I knitted the buttonhole band of my cardigan, just the neckband to go.
Yet another action packed day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.