Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

It's a wrap

I swear that the temperature in my flat drops during the day. I turn the heater off when I go to bed, and it's quite chilly in the morning but not as bitter as it is by lunchtime.
It must be the opening of the curtains and exposing my room-temperature air to my single-glazed windows that speeds up the temperature drop.
So when the post-and-packing shop opened at 10am I nipped out to buy some bubble-wrap.
The rolls of bubble-wrap are mounted high up in the shop on a copper pipe. When the shopkeeper pulls down the leading edge, the weight of the piece hanging from the roll is enough to keep the roll rolling and he has to physically stop it to prevent it from unravelling.
I suggested that he insert a sponge into the tube to provide some inertia as it pressed between the cardboard and the copper pipe. He realised that this was quite likely to work and gave me discount on my purchases as a design fee.
Now I am just hoping that a double-thickness of bubble-wrap will do the trick for me in the flat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.