Gruf

CMC went into Kirkwall to play badminton and to meet an ex-schoolfriend chum in Deerness. 

I was left a note indicating I should behave and have her pipe and slippers ready for when she came home. In an ill advised show of gallusness I burnt the note and took to the hills. 

I walked from the house up to the village and up past Loutit’s Cottage towards Ward Hill.  I changed my plans after meeting Ian coming down the hill.  He advised against it as he had turned back because of heavily iced tracks. So I only went up to the saddle and turned towards Gruf Hill.  Progress was slow.  I hunkered down to enjoy my snack and flask of tea.  Out of nowhere two dogs appeared sniffing my snack.  Eventually the Gunns arrived.  (No mention of Gun dogs please – Ed).

Eventually I was left in peace and enjoyed my post-snack  hip flask.  Well, if not exactly hip, at least on trend.  Linkwood 15 if you must know.  Then about an hour later disaster as I passed the Gyre farm and Agnes informed me she’d seen CMC return home an hour earlier.

Can someone post me some arnica?

Petula Clark is 5’ 2”.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.