Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Looking good....... ?

After last night’s rain, today’s blue skies come as a very pleasant surprise. I’m beginning to realise just how obsessed I am by the weather, and checking the forecast for the rest of the week, we decide to set off on a 10km walk. We head up to the top of a local hill - Bryn Euryn, before heading back down to the sea. The tide is out, and waders abound. 

I spot some oyster catchers, one of which conveniently decides to search the mud directly behind a still sand pool. The perfect reflection makes it seem as if the bird is checking its appearance - hence the title. 

Oyster catchers are beautiful birds, their vermillion beaks vivid against their jet black feathers. But it is their orange eyes which   are their stand out feature - and, from my experience, the most difficult to capture! This image just about does it, but in my extras I include a much better angle. Sadly, no reflection however! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.