Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Inking

I’ll start with the inevitable weather reference: it’s a miserable day of drizzle and mist. We do manage a constitutional ‘round the block’, but I don’t even take my iPhone with me. 

It matters not, however, as I’ve decided this is designated an ‘arts and crafts’ day. When I retired over six years ago, I said I was going to do all sorts of arty things, but, with the exception of my photography and brief forays into Christmas crafts, I’ve done nothing. 

So, this morning I get out my ‘Artbox’ (pressie from husband) and have my first go at using inks. It’s really hard - I just don’t know where to start. Finally, I realise I just have to ‘have a go’ - try a few brushstrokes, and embark on a mini project. I’m in the middle of attempting an impressionistic Chinese brush art chrysanthemum, when I look at my palette  (actually a plate - I’m improvising) and see how the inks are running together. This is better than my artwork, especially when I tilt the plate. I love the feathering and the way the black and green are forming lines through and round the yellow. So there’s today’s blip, though I know it probably should be part of Abstract Thursday. 

Meanwhile, I carry on with another brush art - a lily/orchid flower, then move on to a pen and ink cosmos. And I start to feel comfortable. I’m enjoying what I’m doing! This could become a regular event! 

As an extra, I’m being brave and including a collage of my efforts....... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.