Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Snow Lily

I enjoy getting out of the house, walking in the fresh air - honestly. But today I would have given anything not to leave. Not only is it cold, damp and dreary, but I really want to get on with today’s project. I’ve decided to try focusing on one main task each day rather than allowing my butterfly brain to flit aimlessly. Yesterday was ‘art’, today is photography - sorting last year’s photos into albums. Today I’m focusing on ‘coast’. I’ve already whittled them down to about 200, but really need to half that number, and I’m not the most decisive. This year, I really must be more disciplined! 

Needing a break, I head out for a very brief survey of our garden - well the pots as everything else is waterlogged. To my delight I discover a tiny snowdrop, weighed down by even tinier rain droplets. This is such a thrill. I planted some in 2019 but none seemed to grow last year, and we failed to buy new bulbs for autumn planting. 

So here it is; white and pure, a simple affirmation that spring is on its way. 

By the way, the Welsh for snowdrop is Eirlys - snow lily. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.