Snow Clearing - All Day!

As predicted in yesterday's blip, today's activity was snow clearing. Half of our plum tree collapsed under the weight of all the wet snow but otherwise we survived the storm. None of our precautions were needed, but I'm fine with that.
Around breakfast time our neighbour arrived with the tractor to clear our main driveway. This would be a huge job on a day like this so we are very happy to pay him to do this. Jan has blipped him at work.
After breakfast it was out into the storm myself to take  away the snow from our new veranda roof. Here is the "before" picture, the blip is the "after" picture. The roof is a fairly strong construction and would probably be okay but all the snow from Betty's roof slides down onto the veranda roof so I didn't want to take chances, especially as more snow is forecast tomorrow and next weekend.  The snow was 30 - 45 cm deep, wet, and very heavy. It was fairly easy to clear though as hardly any lifting is required. And so the day continued - the cellar path and door, the Red House and barn door, the kayak tent (that was hard work - lots of lifting) and the snow on and around the cars.
By the time I'd finished it was dark and had stopped snowing. I saw a single star in the sky so the cloud must have cleared a little. The wind calmed down and the temperature fell a few degrees. Normally I'd have felt it was clearing up, but I've seen the forecast and this storm that came up from the south is due to turn around and come sweeping back again from the north, though with reduced power.  So tomorrow may also involve snow clearing.
Jan persuaded me to do the day's Yoga with Adriene's once I'd finished in the snow. I was reluctant, being exhausted, but after I'd done it I felt really nice. It was a good way to stretch out the muscles and let everything fall back into place.
The rest of the evening is going to be fairly lethargic, involving Netflix or similar, and perhaps eating some of that chocolate we saved for emergencies that didn't happen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.