FFP2

The snow arrived 9 hours late, held up at the Channel border crossing. Coming from the UK it was warm (relative) and accompanied by lots of wind. It got into every nook and cranny. Things like car ports a waste of time to keep car snow free.

It didn't stop, but I wasn't going out to start clearing until the wind died down. It didn't! Eventually at nearly 16:00, I had no choice. Really not that much as it had turned wetter as temperature got up to 0° C and thus compacted but good two hours blowing and getting covered from top to toe.

When finished dashed to local supermarket 5 mins before they close at 18:00. Whacked on my FFP2 mask - OAPs were given three free at end December and our parish council also sent the fire brigade out to us just before Christmas Eve with two. They are very comfortable, but I grab whatever is to hand when I shop - home-made ones, thin basic surgical type ...

However, as I got back into the car the 18:00 radio news announced that as of Monday, everybody in Bavaria will be required to wear at least FFP2 masks in shops and on public transport. (We have to wear masks now but material of own choice).

Our county has not been looking good - we hit the 200 new cases/100,000 population on Monday which would have meant more restrictions but luckily now 185. The target to be able to even think about effective tracing is 50 but 25 would be better and now experts saying we need to get down to 7 asap. The vaccine campaign is stuttering somewhat, we of course started a lot later, and it seems the delivery from the manufacturers is the problem - ironic given it's a German developed vaccine. Nonetheless, until we all in Europe and the World get the jab, we can't finish this bug off.

Despite the snow and work, it was the most incredible day for me personally. It's too intimate/personal to go into but just a few photos from years back landed on my phone today. They not only solved a great mystery but also started a process of inner healing which will help me greatly."Closure", I think it is often called but in my case, if I get it right, it will be the first step in opening a new chapter. I am so thankful.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.