Life on the go

By BarryBadcock

Almost Ready for Teddies

Almost Ready for the Teddies. 
Teddy Bear Unit has been assembled in the bedroom and the Danish Oil is having a bit more time to dry before the Teddies can take up residence. The Danish Oil was still a bit 'tacky' this morning as the garaged workshop does get quite cold and the recommendation is that the oil should dry above 10 degC. 

Apart from the plywood all the hardwood was reclaimed. The Oak top was from daughter Nicki in Swindon, left over from their new kitchen worktop (I scrounged it from them when we camped on their drive / met them in the garden in July). The hardwood edges, unknown wood, came from Nicki's old Futon Bed. 

This was a learning project as I have not made furniture for years and then most of it  before was 'built in furniture' (i.e. I used the walls). 

Lessons leant include. 
• Be prepared to change the design half way through :) 
• I like danish oil as a finishing treatment, but I also need to investigate 'Osmo finishing oils'. 
• Although I sanded each part as I went along I am sure more attention to the finish at an early stage would be beneficial to the finished look. 
• Still got a lot to learn about jointing. 
• If I use plywood on visible surfaces to keep the cost down then I will need to explore ways of finishing the surface (i.e. Veneers / Decopatch etc). 
I will have to forget about learning to turn wood as I have now run out of space in the workshop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.