ferryoons

By ferryoons

Blast from the past

I just had my sister on. “Remember this concert we went to?” she said. Seems that bro-in-law just found this in a copy of Record Mirror dated 12th September 1970. He went separately, before they met.

Yes I do remember it. My main memories are John Sebastian’s material being nowhere near as good as with Lovin’ Spoonful, and Eric Burdon’s collaboration with War not being congenial. I had already seen him a lot with the Animals. Still, no wish to sound mingey. It was the usual, good, Hyde Park free concert afternoon. 

I think my favourite among all those concerts is the Blind Faith’s first ever gig in June 1969. Good music though they were clearly nervous. Too much to live up to I suppose. Another memory of that day is support act Richie Havens refusing to start until whoever had stolen his hat gave it back. It didn’t take long. 120,000 people have little patience for that sort of thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.