Ink Polaroids

By inkpolaroids

¶ A Quiet Day

A quiet day at work, unusual considering we have a major release tomorrow. I've probably missed a memo somewhere. In any case, it gave me some time to sort through my box of camera crappery that I've collected over the years. I have long ago stopped shooting film but I've hung on to the cameras nevertheless. I love the look of film (there really is nothing like it) but I cannot be bothered with the hassle or - and this is really it - the cost.

This camera belonged to my uncle. I found it in his attic when we were clearing out his house in the weeks after he moved into a care home. He is 83 and has dementia and so has no more use for it. His speech is very garbled and his stories, such as they are, make no sense. He long ago stopped recognising anyone, something that particularly hurst his sister, my mother, who has looked after him and his business since it became obvious that he needed care.

This camera dates from 1976. I wonder how many memories this has taken.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.