Old-fashioned rice pudding!

I'd quite forgotten how comforting it is. I haven't made this for years, not sure why as I love it. The smell of it cooking in the oven and then the eating, it was worth the 2 hour wait! As I have been cutting most sugar from my diet I only used about two thirds of the amount in the recipe and hoped I wouldn't hate it because of that, but no I didn't and think the full amount would have been too much. I might try half next time.
My parcel for granddaughter's birthday is all packed and ready to be collected by the courier tomorrow. Hope there's not too much snow for her to get up the lane.
Mum now has her antibiotics but they have sent her one short, she said she will ring the pharmacy but I'm not sure how they can rectify that now without delivering just one tablet to her! Mum says she is feeling a bit better so I'm hoping the antibiotics will knock it on the head for her. She's had a letter telling her to go online to the nhs website and order her free Vitamin D. Why do they tell elderly people that? Mum does have the means but not the confidence to do that so I'll do it for her. Many others will not have the means, Barry's parents for example. She's still waiting to hear about the vaccine.
I had a lovely long chat with my daughter. Her working contract came to an end at the end of 2020 having been extended more than once. She doesn't mind as she will always choose a contract over a permanent position. She's not unhappy to not have to go out to work at the moment. It was lovely to be able to have an afternoon chat.
My cardigan almost complete, literally sewing up and buttons which I'll have to order online. 
I think we'll be waking up to more snow in the morning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.