Look Mam. SAX!

Ignoring such trivialities as Date and Month, I was born in the middle year of
WW ll.  I have no recollections of this event to follow - BUT - with sugar being, like so many other things, in short supply, drinks were sweetened with "saccharines".


Just for fun - I checked; makes me wonder if Merriam-Webster has ever seen/used them.  OR, for that matter, been taught punctuation; mine's "nowt special" but I can put in the odd  ,  and end a sentence with a  .

"Definition of saccharine

1a : of, relating to, or resembling that of sugar saccharine taste

b : yielding or containing sugar saccharine vegetables


2 : overly or sickishly sweet saccharine flavor


3 : ingratiatingly or affectedly agreeable or friendly


4 : overly sentimental mawkish a saccharine love story."


So - Apparently the first time I was both, able to communicate intelligently, and saw my first snow; I must have thought it was raining saccharines; hence the excited cry of:-


"LOOK Mam!   SAX!"



BTW - ALL the white specks are snow; NONE from marks on the far wall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.