Sunrise and Frost

I woke up this morning just as the sun was coming up. The outside temperature had sunk to -16°C so where there was a little dampness between our (old) windows it was turning to frost feathers.
Later we went for a walk, well wrapped up, as you can see in this picture of Jan. The outside world was very beautiful in its new white clothes and mostly blue sky. On the way out a very slight breeze blew in our faces but it was slight so no frozen cheeks. The walk home was great with the sun in our faces and the breeze on our backs.
Once home we had a quick bite to eat and then Jan went into an online meeting, and I went back outside to do a few jobs. I worked outside for a couple of hours, scraping the ice from the car, digging out the cellar door, that sort of thing. Then I checked the Red House and Betty's to make sure the bathrooms were okay in this chill. They were, but I turned the heating up a notch just to be sure. Electricity is cheap, at least compared with a frozen bathroom!
When I got back inside and stripped off some of my layers I noticed how tired I was feeling. There is something about working outside in this fierce cold that burns more energy than usual. I'm not sure if it's a direct result of the cold, or that it's more work to move when encased in so many layers.
It was a good day, and the weather forecast promises us similar tomorrow - more sun, more cold. This is how winter should be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.