Photos from A Field

By RandallFriesen

Real Thanks

In an old book I found this reminder of thanks today.

For both the good and the bad parts of life.


I thank thee God that I have lived
In this great world and known it’s many joys
The song of birds the strong sweet scent of hay
And cooling breezes in the secret dusk
The flaming sunsets at the close of day
Hills and the lonely Heather covered moors
Music at night and moonlight on the sea
The beat of waves upon the rocky shore
And wild white spray flung high in ecstasy
The faithful eyes of dogs and treasured books
The love of kin and fellowship of friends
And all that makes life dear and beautiful

I thank thee too that there has come to me
A little sorrow and sometimes defeat
A little heartache and the loneliness
That comes with parting and the word goodbye
Dawn breaking after dreary hours of pain
When I discovered that nights gloom must yield
And morning light breakthrough to me again
Because of these and other blessings poured
Unmasked upon my wondering head
Because I know that there is yet to come
An even richer and more glorious life
And most of all because Thine only son
Once sacrificed life’s loveliness for me
I thank thee God that I have lived

-Elizabeth Graven

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.