The Only Sun Today

I had to drop Myles off at the Veterinary Hospital at 8 a.m. It's 30 minutes from home, so we were up and out by 7:30.  He had had nothing to eat or drink since about 9 o'clock last night - this for a dog who is insatiably hungry all the time.  Doctor's orders so they could check out his abdomen with an ultrasound.  We were up by 6:30 and we did the usual constitutional outside but we usually come in and he has his breakfast by the time I can make a Keurig cup of coffee.  He was incredulous as I drank my coffee and his dishes remained empty, dry.  Poor guy an exam that was supposed to take a couple of hours got postponed because of an emergency and I picked him up at 3:30 - he still had had nothing to eat or drink.  He was beyond stressed.  He is laying on the bed at my feet deep in doggie sleep, full belly, hydrated and I'm sure glad to be home.  It seems that in order to confirm a diagnosis, he needs one more test (it always seems as though there is one more test) and that will take at least 4 hours as there is a before injection, injection and after injection.  If confirmed, it will be treatable, no doubt with some very costly medicine, but he is a senior dog who still loves life and food and his family.  Stay tuned.  

The photo was taken after I dropped him off - it seemed there was a moment of light and calm.  Something that is lacking in our lives right now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.